Try, Try, Again…

Hello, to my loyal 2 or 3 readers.  I appreciate you taking the time to read my ramblings.  In case anybody noticed that there was no new posts over the weekend, it wasn’t because I didn’t write them.

It seems I am having technical difficulties or God just didn’t like what I was planning on publishing.  Saturdays post was a nice testimony to God’s miracle of taking away a couple of my vices.  He did this without me having to suffer or crave or gnaw off my knuckles.  There were no DT’s or nicotine fits.  I thought that was a dandy thing for God to do and I rank this Miracle equally alongside of Him healing leprosy.

The title of that post was Rehab With God.  I didn’t actually go to rehab, I just woke up one morning and the desires for alcohol and cigarettes were gone.  The real crazy thing is, I hadn’t even planned on giving these habits up (yet).  So I thought this was a real powerful testimony to the seemingly impossible things that can happen when you love God with all of your might.

This morning I woke at about 3:00 am with another blog idea in mind.  This one was poignantly titled, “Knocking on My 17 Year Old Soul”.  The gist of the message was how God delivered me from a depression that came from the deepest darkest corridors of hell.  I included a picture of my 17 year old self and a couple of my best suicidal-themed poems.

I tied it all up in a pretty bow and used a trite metaphor on how I once crawled in the dirt of my sinful life, then I was “cocooned” in darkness for awhile, blah, blah, blah, and then one day the Spirit of God filled my heart and set me free to fly free like a butterfly unencumbered by the ugliness of the world and the enemy’s tricks and up I flew gratefully into His loving arms.

 Something along those lines anyway.

But, alas, I guess those outpourings were not meant for the world.  Maybe, as my husband wisely pointed out, they were just things I wanted to release in some way.  

While making his egg sandwich I was grumbling about how I wasted my time writing once AGAIN…  Whatever!!   Now it seems, I am actually resurrecting my 17 year old pitiful, immature attitude, not just knocking on it’s soul.

I need to quit being silly and trust that this is what I’m supposed to be doing.  Blogging for God.

And so I will press this publish button and try, try again.

Have a blessed day.

About whatafriendwehave

I'm a 48 year Christian with a fervent desire that everyone would experience the treasure and miracle of walking hand in hand with God, all day, every day. I want everyone to hear His voice and to experience the reality that I have been so blessed to come into, "living on Earth as it is in Heaven". This is what God wants for us all...
This entry was posted in christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Try, Try, Again…

  1. haha!! You have no idea how many problems I had publishing at first! It was so irritating! I’ve learned to write them all in Microsoft Word now and then copy and paste!!! Great post…yes, you must keep doing it!!!

  2. Lol!! When you come to visit me you can give me a nice tutorial on copying and pasting. I have a Mac computer, so we’ll have to figure out that as well. Gary is useless! And he works with computers everyday. It’s what he is! A digital trainer. Whatever, I’ll keep plugging away at it and the posts that get obliterated by the blogsphere, oh well! I’m glad to know it’s not just me. Thanks for the encouragement. And I just loved your post today too!!!

  3. Stacey Blubaugh says:

    Highlight everything and then hold the control button and C to copy.
    Go to your blog and hold the control button and P to paste! All set! I’ve lost a few too.

    You said that some of those attitudes are coming back up again. As my pastor has so lovingly taught me, whatever we have abandoned for Jesus is always willing to take us back and sometimes those spirits will test to see if there’s any avenue in. It’ll try it’s best to see if it’s welcome in any way. The blood of Jesus cannot be broken through! I’m not speaking of you but of myself here. I find that if I’m subjected again to something I’ve been free of, it’s because legalistically, I’m trying to do and be…covering myself. (the law) It’s a good indication of where I’m not allowing the blood to cover me. (His grace)

    I think you are off to a great start!

  4. I can totally relate to the Lord helping you with the releasing the yoke of a vice. I once had an addiction to food, then one day, the Lord convicted me of this, and since then, He has given me the strength to overcome it daily. I love the everyman feel of your blog. God has clearly touched your life and that is refreshing and encouraging to see. To see my post about my struggle with my vice, head to my blog and look for a post called: Blocking the view of my shoes. I feel you could relate to that struggle. God bless.

  5. Dan Earll says:

    “I tied it all up in a pretty bow and used a trite metaphor on how I once crawled in the dirt of my sinful life, then I was “cocooned” in darkness for awhile, blah, blah, blah, and then one day the Spirit of God filled my heart and set me free to fly free like a butterfly unencumbered by the ugliness of the world and the enemy’s tricks and up I flew gratefully into His loving arms.”

    This was beautifully said, and I have always believed that the changed life as a new creation (2 Cor 5:17) is the greatest miracle of all!! God’s blessings on you and your husband!

Leave a Reply

