I Bet The Pharmacist Thinks I’m Dead…

After God arranged my wedding in February, He remained quite chatty with me and actually got a little bossy.

He told me to throw away ALL of my medication.  At first I thought I heard wrong.  I knew my imagination would not tell me to do this.  I was on lots of medication.  Many of them were to make my life more comfortable, but some, I was told by the doctors, since I had open heart surgery when I was 40, were to keep me alive.

So immediately I ask myself, could the other guy (satan) be telling me to do this, because of course he wants me dead…

If so, he really sounded a lot like God.  I’m getting a flashback to watching Rich Little on some show when I’m a kid.  He could sound just like Richard Nixon, Marlon Brando, John Wayne and many others.  It was amazing.  So if a guy could do that, perhaps, a fallen angel could do a God impersonation.

So I didn’t do it right away.   Finally, I said  “fine, (like I said, He got real bossy about this matter),  “I’ll quit taking everything, but I’m not throwing these expensive medications away! ” ( “just in case I might need them”, I muttered under my breath).

The one’s that “my life depended on”  included blood pressure, cholesterol, beta blocker, calcium blocker, blood thinner, aspirin and thyroid pills.

The one’s that made my life more pleasant included, heartburn, allergy, PMS, sleeping and anti anxiety medications.

There was no way, without blood tests to know how my body was reacting without the “one’s my life depended on”.  The absence of the other’s, however, served as a litmus test to see if it was, indeed, God who hatched this plan.

Before I quit taking my medication I always was reminded if I “forgot” to take them because I would suffer painful acid reflux symptoms almost immediately without my Nexium.  Without the Singular my nose would be so snuffed up with snot and I would be compelled to itch my eyeballs until they were bloody in their sockets.  Without the Wellbutrin, which I was prescribed for PMS, I wasn’t (to put it mildly) well at all.  And alas, without Ambien I would not sleep a wink.  The anti anxiety pill was really only for those “special occasions”, when life was throwing bushels of lemons at me and I didn’t have time to make lemonade out of them all.

Day 1 sans drugs came and went.  I was fine.  Day 2, also was uneventful, okay, miraculous is a better word for it.  Two days, no medications and I’m sleeping, I’m eating Mexican food without breathing fire afterwards, I’m breathing in and out with no phlegmy cough, no bloody eyeballs, no bloody fist fights because I’m not medicating the PMS.

And so on Day 3 my whole medicine cabinet goes into the trash.  I should’ve just did it on day 1 like God had asked, but He wasn’t mad at me.

That was March 9th this year that I stopped taking all of this medication.  I do not write this in an attempt to convince people to quit taking their medication.  Don’t do that unless God tells you to!!!!  I write this to emphasize the importance of having an intimate relationship with God, to illustrate the miracles you walk in while you walk in God’s will, when you are obedient.

I waited 5 months before I went to my Nurse practitioner to tell her what I had done.  I half expected a one-way ticket to the funny farm when I blurted out, “God told me to stop taking my medications”.

She didn’t rush to judgement or chastise me, she just calmly asked, “all of them?”

“Yep”.

She ordered blood tests and said there was a chance that if I was taking really good care of myself that everything might be okay for now.  Everything, she said, except for the thyroid.  She said there was no way for my endocrine system to be able to make the kind of correction needed on its own without medication.  She said that I would need thyroid medicine for the rest of my life.  She said she would wait to see how the blood tests came back to see what dose she would need to attack my thyroid with, since it had been left to its own devices for quite some time.

I had no doubt that the tests would come back perfect.  Lots more stuff had happened in the last 5 months since God told me to” lose the pills”!  For one, my 48-year-old body felt like it was brand spanking new!!!  And my Faith had morphed into that “mountain moving kind of faith”, that I thought was reserved for people who were way more special than me.

My nurse practitioner’s faith got bigger too, so did her medical assistant’s and the crabby lady’s,  who drew my “drug free” blood.  They all agreed that they had never seen a thyroid condition miraculously “healed”.

But they did now.

And if God would quit wanting to eat ice cream with me all the time,  those triglyceride numbers will probably look better on paper in 6 months when she checks them again.

 

 

About whatafriendwehave

I'm a 48 year Christian with a fervent desire that everyone would experience the treasure and miracle of walking hand in hand with God, all day, every day. I want everyone to hear His voice and to experience the reality that I have been so blessed to come into, "living on Earth as it is in Heaven". This is what God wants for us all...
This entry was posted in christianity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Bet The Pharmacist Thinks I’m Dead…

  1. Stacey Blubaugh says:

    Awesome! =)
    P.S. There is no one more special than you. Keep moving mountains.

    • Thank you so much. I think you are the only one reading what I write. But that is enough. I really appreciate it and I look forward to your comments. They mean a lot to me. I won’t get discouraged, I won’t think it’s a waste of time. I’ll just keep bragging about my God!!!! This is really for Him anyway… Be blessed, Stacey!!! : )

Leave a Reply

