God, The Fireman…

My step daughter had recently made contact with my husband and I.  It seems that in every area of her life there was a fire of destruction burning down everything in sight.  In the 9 years that me and my husband had been together, this was typically the only time that we would hear from her was when she needed something.  However, this time, her needs seemed to be bigger and more far reaching.

I knew that giving her the $200 she needed to get her electricity turned back on was not going to be the cure all that she said it would be.  Still, I called the electric company and that fire was put out in that area, for the time being.  We encouraged her to go to church with us and she agreed that she really needed to get right with God.  We had made plans to pick her up twice in the last couple of weeks but an hour before the service she would text us saying that “something came up”.

Yesterday she called my phone.  She was crying, she was hopeless and she was hungry.  She wanted to know if I could please bring her something to eat.  I packed her up several bags of groceries and me and my husband headed over to her house.  She was thankful and tearful and said that she for sure wanted us to pick her up for church in the morning.

I was thankful that we did not receive any texts this morning and that she was ready to go when we got to her house.

During worship she stood rigid, not singing a word.  Psalms 126:5 says, “They who sow in tears, shall reap in joy and singing”.  I grabbed her hand, determined that she would feel God’s love fill her and heal her broken spirit before we left church today.

The words of Smith Wigglesworth ran through my mind, “if God is not moving in a service, I will move God”.  God was probably already moving in our worship but I was determined to get him to move from the pores of my hand into hers.  She was going to feel God’s light, I was not going to be deterred.  I felt just a little resistance when I marched her up to the alter.  I sang God’s Love down from Heaven this morning.  I squeezed her hand until she cried and I sang until her heart opened and she let God in.

The sermon afterward was perfect.  It was clear that God had destined her to be there this morning.

On the way to lunch after the service, she said, “I can’t believe I was thinking about ending my life this week.  God had the Pastor preach a sermon that was meant just for me.  I must be important to God.  I will never consider ending my life again”.

Later this evening I would read in Psalms 90:14, “Satisfy us in the morning with Your Unfailing Love, that we would be glad all our days”.

God, indeed, showed up this morning with His Unfailing Love.

I told my step daughter that it will take some time to put out all these fires in her life.  But now instead of her trying to blow out these flames with the power of her small breath, she had God with her, and He would bring a big hose…

About whatafriendwehave

I'm a 48 year Christian with a fervent desire that everyone would experience the treasure and miracle of walking hand in hand with God, all day, every day. I want everyone to hear His voice and to experience the reality that I have been so blessed to come into, "living on Earth as it is in Heaven". This is what God wants for us all...
This entry was posted in christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to God, The Fireman…

  1. What a beautiful story!! I especially love the last paragraph. VERY, VERY NICE!!!!!

  2. Jared Wooley says:

    That’s great octavia got to experience the lord with you and Gary Sunday. You both have changed so many lives since you started putting god first, i hope your ready for what god will give back to u. I hope i can be apart of it. Its no coincidence that blessings and healings surround you two, you’ve allowed the lord to wake you up,now he can’t get u to sleep.

    • TRUE THAT !!!! It’s no coincidence that you came to stay with us for a few months while Melody was deployed. Watching you crack open that Bible each morning cracked me open wider. That crack allowed All of God to enter, it was a process, it didn’t happen overnight, but because of you and your quiet faithfulness to God, I was opened up fresh for new possibilities. Your little brother’s innocent love for God inspired me to take it to another level as well. I overflow with Him now. I want everyone in the world to be healed and to overflow with God too. This is just too Good to not want to share it with everyone. You don’t have to hope to be apart of it, you ignited it. God’s Fire is raging in us, I can’t wait to see all of the things that He will send us to do. I love you!

  3. I am a little chocked up by reading this post. The zinger at the end almost knocked me off of my ergonomic ball that I sit on to write my work. So, true is the call of our Savior’s unfailing love for us. I did a devotional about all the times God’s love is described as unfailing. It took a long time to complete because there were many times it took place in the bible. What a fantastic post this was and a pleasure and joy to read this story. God bless.

  4. SR says:

    This post just gripped my soul. To think what could of happened and what did not. How blessed she is to have you in her life. One day as time goes and she gets older she will know it as well. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

